Skip to content

Program Schedules

Program schedules may be subject to change. All pending applicants and accepted participants will be alerted to any changes made after publication. If you have questions or concerns about any of these dates, please consult with the JCMU staff prior to making any flight arrangements.


2017 Fall Semester Japanese Language and Culture

Depart for Japan - Sep 3 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in** - Sep 4 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for fall and academic year students)
Orientation - Sep 5 (Tue)
Placement Test - Sep 6 (Wed)    
First Day of Class - Sep 7 (Thu)
National Holiday - No Classes - Sep 18 (Mon)
National Holiday - No Classes - Oct 9 (Mon)
National Holiday - No Classes - Nov 3  (Fri)
National Holiday - No Classes - Nov 23 (Thu)
Japanese Presentations - Dec 8 (Fri)
Japanese Final Exam - Dec 14 (Thu)
Closing Ceremony - Dec 15 (Fri)
Move-out/Departure - Dec 16 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available unless participating in the full academic year or ICRP programs)


2018 Spring Semester Japanese Language and Culture

Depart for Japan - Jan 4 (Thu) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - Jan 5 (Fri)* (JCMU-provided housing is available for spring semester students)
Orientation - Jan 6 (Sat)
National Holiday - No Classes - Jan 8 (Mon)  
Placement Test - Jan 9 (Tue)  
First Day of Class - Jan 10 (Wed)
Break - No Classes - Mar 1 (Thu)
Break - No Classes - Mar 2 (Fri)
Japanese Presentations - Apr 13 (Fri)
Japanese Final Exam - Apr 18 (Wed)
Closing Ceremony - Apr 20 (Fri)
Move-out/Departure - Apr 21 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)

*The original move-in date of January 4th was changed to January 5th to better match flight schedules. Students who arrive on January 4th and travel on their own will be permitted to move into the JCMU Residence Hall that day. Students who wish to travel with the chaperoned group should plan to stay at a hotel near the airport to meet up with the group on January 5th. 


2018 Environment & Sustainability / Health & Culture / Teaching English in Japan programs

Depart for Japan - May 6 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in** - May 7 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
Orientation - May 8 (Tue)
Move-out/Departure - June 7 (Thu) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)